pain is the staff of life

Don’t be cruel to a hart that’s true.

Posted in Uncategorized by ruthanzo on November 21, 2008

St Hubert and the Sacred Hart

St Hubert and the Sacred Hart

Yesterday, X, our smiling neighbour to the West, came by to ask if my husband and I would mind if he and his son did some bowhunting on our property. He lives on a small rural lot and we have 250 acres with some walking trails. The place abounds in wildlife and we aren’t hunters. X said his son had just turned 12 and he had gotten him a bow. Only 12 and now armed with a bow. I was horrified. I said, ‘I don’t think my husband would go for this,’ my excuse being that we or other members of the family often walk in the woods. After X left, I got to thinking that I have always wanted to learn how to shoot a bow, my problem is I don’t think I could bring myself to kill anything. I remember how the boys we grew up with were always shooting at birds or strangling frogs and though my sisters and our friends thought them cruel we were more than sad/happy to prepare the lifeless corpses for the Afterworld, gathering flowers to line the Eddy matchbox coffins and marking their graves with little popsicle-stick crosses (sittin here wonderin, matchbox hold my corpse.) Symbiotic. The hammer and popsickle. (Hummer and cycle?)

I recently finished reading a bio of Swedish Baron Bror Blixen, the much-maligned womanizing boozer husband of Danish-writer Izak Dinesen as portrayed in Out of Africa. It was apologetic in the extreme. (I think the writer was his godson.) He was a failed coffee plantation owner in Kenya who had become a big-game hunter after his Swedish and Danish backers backed out on him. I was puzzled as to why so many attractive young women fell for this middle-aged roué killer of exotic game (cause Blix was a party animal?) At one point in the book, he and his rich guests (they’re always rich,) whilst on safari, run into ‘a spot of trouble’ when there’s no ‘bush meat’ left to feed the crew. (The rich folks’ champagne and victuals were usually flown in by foolhardy pilots.) He thinks fast on his feet and expertly bags a heffelump so the workers can eat. Thus are Blix and his gang able to continue their killing spree. (One man’s elephant shank is another man’s umbrella stand.) A savy hunter (Ivory Joe?) is a good provider. But Blix also felt remorse often repeating a Coptic saying ‘Life is life and fun is fun, but it’s all so quiet when the goldfish die.’

Now I understand that children must learn to hunt before they develop that sappy tendency to feel pity for animals or people. A wise farmer never names his cows. My father abhorred hunting and guns. His excuse was he had once shot a deer when out with hunter friends and for the rest of his life he could not forgive himself. He obviously had not tasted home-smoked venison sausage. I have. A few years back our washing-machine repairman gave us some from his freezer. It was delicious. Also in the freezer was the severed head of a buck with a 16 pt rack.
read about St Hubert I think the makers of “The Queen” starring Helen Mirren were onto this story.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Miss Whyte Chief (Ret.) said, on November 21, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I, many decades ago,
    sang sacred songs sweetly.
    One of my faves was an adaptation of Psalm 42.

    To whit:
    “Like as the hart Desireth the water brook
    So longeth my soul after thee O Lord!”
    I say throw away the bows and bring on the
    Diapason.
    We sang it on 5th Ave NYC ( St. Thomas ) May 1965
    It ain’t funny but it’s the truth ruth !

  2. zz dans le meteo said, on November 22, 2008 at 1:55 am

    Nothing wrong with abhorring sport hunting. The hart’s not a lonely hunter with jagermeister breath lining up at St Hubert’s barbe a cul but does show up in some grail quest stories and even a quest of it’s own. The quest of the white hart leads to thoughts of mercy and compassion …

  3. leslie said, on November 24, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I’m no great fan of hunting (though I have eaten my fair share of venison and pheasant shot by relatives and friends) but I’d much rather see it done with a rifle than with a bow. It’s a hell of a lot harder to humanely kill an animal with an arrow, especially when you’re talking about a 12-year-old kid. and who thinks it’s a good idea to give any kind of weapon to a pre-teen boy?!

  4. Arremoreeplay said, on December 27, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Hi your website is cute
    I have a new band and we just had a live gig u can see here:
    http://tinyurl.com/a5sfeo


Leave a Reply

