pain is the staff of life

RICK

Posted in Uncategorized by ruthanzo on October 4, 2010


During the last years of her life my sister spent a lot of time in front of the tube. When she wasn’t recuperating from her many surgeries, chemo treatments caused her to suffer from hand foot syndrome and after putting in a full day on her feet she’d long for the comfort of her yellow leather couch. Weekdays it was the BBC news at 6 pm followed by the McNeil-Lehrer Newshour at 7 pm. Before Peter Mansbridge and the CBC News kicked in at 9 rebroadcast at 10 she’d visit the runway at CNN featuring Aaron Brown, Wolf Blitzer, Anderson Cooper, Lou Dobbs, and occasionaly Rick Sanchez usually pinch-hitting for somebody more important.

My sister really liked Rick. She’d say ‘Don’t you like Rick?’ and I’d answer from the kitchen where I was making supper ‘Not particularly. But don’t let me stop you.’ I’d joke that Rick was her boyfriend.

So when I heard about Rick Sanchez being fired last week for what have been interpreted as anti-semitic remarks, I thought of Kate and I’ve been lying awake at night trying to figure out why it was she liked the big dufus. Maybe it was just that he made he feel good. But I’m going to go out on a limb here and conjecture that she saw him not as the glitsy good-looking guy CNN hoped would pull in the Hispanic viewers but as an ambitious Cuban-American male struggling to make-it to the top of the heap at CNN but for some reason always falling short.

I wonder if she saw a bit of Jack Kerouac in Rick. Kerouac, the brilliant frustrated writer with a big chip on his shoulder. Kate was a big fan of Kerouac’s and whenever the opportunity arose she always championed the French-Canadians in America. She maintained that even though the French-Canadians had been on the North American continent longer than the Anglos/Americans whose culture was dominant they were largely invisible. Their language, religion and culture had held them back and prevented them from participating fully in the American Dream. I think Hispanic Americans might be suffering from the same lack of prestige. While the Jews, maybe because they have been on the move forever, are more pragmatic adopting the ways of the various ascendancies and gaining influence without losing their traditions.

I hope for Kate’s sake, somebody gives Rick another chance.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Richard Sans Chaise said, on October 4, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    I never understood how she had this soft spot for this Ted Baxter manqué.
    I tend to agree with you about who he is and why the chip.
    It’s like Nixon and Mulroney.
    Overall good leaders brought down, not by hubris, but by feeling life had dealt them a bad blow at birth.
    No Kennedy mick Brahmin nor Trudeau cours classique but
    hard work and weak fathers.
    Maybe there’s the kerouac connection.
    However, I feel, Little Ricky was and is just plain dumb.
    He’ll be back on CNN and he may even work it out on Stewart show.
    I’d feel kinda put upon if I were replaced by Client 9.
    Campbell Brown gave me enough self doubt by dint of familial nomenclature.

  2. Conspiracy ??? said, on October 5, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Dobbsy’s threatening to come back. I think he set Señor Sanchez up


Leave a Reply

