pain is the staff of life

Sept 10, 2001 & Brother André etc. the unexplained.

Posted in Uncategorized by ruthanzo on October 16, 2010

I did not mention this at the time and have been waiting almost 10 yrs. to write this (did not want to sound like a nutter) but during the evening of Sept 10, 2001, I was out on our front stoop and sometime between 10 and 11 pm, I saw Orion The Hunter clearly in the Southern Sky. I remember saying in passing to Dane ‘Isn’t it too early to be seeing Orion?’ It was a warm late Summer’s eve and all the stars were out, including Orion apparently. Of course, Dane doesn’t remember any of this. Was I prescient? The Hunter? I may not know the name of every star in the Heavens but I know my big constellations, especially Orion, my fave.

I tip my hat to Brother André, to be sainted this week, because he may have helped answer my desperate heartfelt prayers in 1980. The ‘beloved’ person I was praying for doesn’t believe in this stuff and I did not report the happy outcome or ‘miracle’ to the Vatican. Many years later I read ‘Cold Heaven’ a work of fiction by Brian Moore where he deals with this kind of unexplained phenomenon. I believe deep prayer, really deep prayer: the kind where you go into a trance, can somehow alter events. Love is a big component when praying.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. campbie said, on October 16, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    I’m with you.
    No words to parry tonight
    what kerouac called the ‘slaving meat wheel’
    nigh on 41 years since jack ate that tuna while watching the galloping gourmet.
    the sweet celtic mystery continues apace…
    or not.

  2. campbie said, on October 16, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    What I forgot to say what that kerouac prayed constantly.
    he was québec catholic au bout,
    with all its concomitant blessing and pitfalls.
    The buddha thing
    but manifestation of impermanence
    on this here ramble thru the world.
    salvation trumps satori.
    the former collective
    the latter not so
    or so it seems to me tonight

  3. ruthanzo said, on October 16, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    i don’t know about salvation, goodness, badness. i’m talking about really deepfelt prayers from the centre of your being.

  4. campbie said, on October 17, 2010 at 6:25 am

    D’accord. But prayer, deep heartfelt for others and not for the material falderals, presupposes that it can be answered. Isn’t it hope incarnate. I write these woids as I watch Ratzy canonise Fr. André live from Vat City. 6:25 am Sunday

    • Peter Clarkson said, on October 17, 2010 at 8:00 am

      Years ago, backstage at the Shaw Theatre in London, I remember you told me about prayer. My niece had childhood cancer and I went home and prayed. I told my mother who said ‘Lets get the parish priest to say a mass…’, I recall saying ‘Sod him, lets go to the top’. I wrote to the Pope and got an letter and medal (blessed by papa) from Cardinal Ratzinger. She is still with us and doing well … the power of Anna I think.
      Peter

  5. ruthanzo said, on October 17, 2010 at 10:11 am

    In 1980 I also was not alone doing the praying. There weren’t too many praying people in my circle so I asked people I hardly knew like the super in my building and a woman who ran the parish office. I definitely made a couple of trips to the Oratory to pray to St Joseph and Bro Andre. Sometimes I would just drop to my knees wherever I was (a stairwell in a hospital) and pray very deeply.


Leave a Reply

